I think I’m in love

In just about a week, I’ll have been in DC for two months. It doesn’t seem like a long time, but if I’m being honest, I’ve been falling for this city the moment I first visited it last November.

For the longest time I was convinced I would end up in New York City after college. It made sense, most of my classmates are there now. For writing, there really isn’t a better career hub than New York. But when I got a NYC job offer, when I flew in for the interview even, it just didn’t feel right.

Something was off, and I knew that I wouldn’t be happy there, not now. Now, I need to be somewhere smaller, more focused. Where I can afford an apartment and discover it at my own pace. Where I can strive for excellence, and write about what I want to write about.

Where I can be in the midst of everything that’s happening.

So, DC, thank you. Thank you for giving me opportunities and friends and food and coffee shops galore. Thank you for always making me smile when I happen to walk past the White House after work. Thank you for reminding me of what I want to do and how I want to write. Thank you for constantly pushing me to be better, do better, write better. For constantly amazing me at your power and beauty, and for stealing my heart.

I love you, DC, and I am yours.

 

Leave a Reply

